Last updated: July 25. 2013 9:09AM - 368 Views
PDT Sports Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

PRP Press Release

Of all the races Saturday night at Portsmouth Raceway Park, the fiercest battle came against the weather’s elements.

With bleak forecasts and pop-up showers around the area, PRP hustled threw the show in order to get in before Mother Nature could wash it out. With nearly 70 cars in the pit area, PRP officials along with help from the race teams managed to run 12 total races with the final checkered flag dropping at 9:45 p.m.

Speed was the theme of the evening on Drivers Appreciation Night. Late Model racer Jackie Boggs’ qualifying time of 14.375 was the fastest lap turned so far this season and Boggs’ speed persisted throughout the night as he won his heat as well as the feature.

South Point’s Todd Robinson took the checkers in the R & W Rental Supply Modified A-Main. John Melvin was victorious in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Lates and Frankfort’s Conard Newman proved triumphant in the M & M Inflatables Bombers.

With Jackie Boggs and 71-year-old Delmas Conley winning both Giovanni’s Pizza Late Model Heats, the front row of the A-Main was comprised of a couple of longtime racing veterans. After cautions during the first two attempts to get the race started, Boggs jumped out front to lead the first lap. The Grayson, Ky. driver would set the pace for all 25 laps en route to winning his third race in four attempts at PRP.

However, Behind him there was a lot of jostling for position. Defending track champion R.J. Conley climbed from seventh to finish second but the big mover of the race was West Portsmouth’s Ben Adkins who charged from 19th starting position to place third. In doing so, Adkins recorded his third straight PRP top-5.

Wheelersburg’s Rod Conley also recorded his third consecutive top-5 finish, as he drove his 71R to a fourth-place finish. Outside pole-sitter Delmas Conley placed fifth.

The eldest driver in the field, Bud Frazier, finished 12th. The 78-year-old from Waverly made his first visit to PRP in 2013, driving a Late Model rather than a Modified car.

Modified racer Todd Robinson finally got through a night without any incidents. His car was fast all night. Robinson led all 20 laps of the Modified feature to win for the first time this year at PRP.

South Webster’s Luke Jordan overhauled West Portsmouth’s Doug Adkins on the final lap to take second. Adkins placed third. Those two had quite the battle. Jordan started fifth, fell to sixth, and then began his march to the front. Adkins started eight and battled his way forward throughout the entire race.

Oak Hill’s Rick Hensley finished in fourth and Franklin Furnace’s Tony DeHart rounded out the top 5. Lucasville’s Greg Anderson was the Markwest Hydrocarbon Hard Charger as he climbed from 20th to 10th.

Coal Grove’s John Melvin returned to the winner’s circle in the Limited Lates, winning for the first time this season. Matt Cook, from Vanceburg, Ky., placed second. Minford’s Tommy Twinam moved up three positions to finish third. Joe Whitt of Minford came home fourth and Mike Steele, from Catlettsburg, Ky., was fifth.

The Bomber feature was arguably the most competitive event of the evening. It went 12 laps, caution free, and witnessed Conard Newman get by Brett Carey with three laps to go. Prior to making the pass Newman and Carey went side-by-side multiple times throughout the first three quarters of the race.

For Newman, it was his first PRP victory of 2013. The Bomber Division has had four different feature winners in four races. Carey, Jason Spillman, Shane Pendleton and Shannon Stephens rounded out the top 5.

PRP will be back in action this coming Saturday, running a full program. On the card will be Late Models, Modifieds, Limited Lates and Bombers. Gates open at 4 p.m, racing begins at 7:30.

Feature Results from 6-1-13


1. Jackie Boggs

2. R.J. Conley

3. Ben Adkins

4. Rod Conley

5. Delmas Conley

6. Nick Bocook

7. Josh Bocook

8. Billy Gullion

9. Rick Christian

10. Kevin Wagner

11. J.T. Conley

12. Bud Frazier

13. Brett Kennard

14. Kenny Christy

15. Mick Sansom

16. Jeff Arnold

17. Joe Ramey

18. Mark Frazier

19. Brandon Perkins


1. Todd Robinson

2. Luke Jordan

3. Doug Adkins

4. Rick Hensley

5. Tony DeHart

6. Adam Jordan

7. Jimmy Lennex, Jr.

8. Brian Skaggs

9. T.J. Harper

10. Greg Anderson

11. Tommy Edmisten

12. Chris Hargett

13. Chris Moore

14. Mark Hall

15. Joseph Adkins

16. Colten Wright

17. Dan Aldridge

18. Chris Hodge

19. Jake Bickers


1. John Melvin

2. Matt Cook

3. Tommy Twinam

4. Joe Whitt

5. Mike Steele

6. Kenny McCann

7. Rex Frohnapfel

8. Harold Terry

9. Rick Robinson

10. Matt Melvin

11. Ronnie Whitt

12. Evyian Terry

13. Kenny Atkins


1. Conard Newman

2. Brett Carey

3. Jason Spillman

5. Shane Pendleonton

6. Shannon Stephens

7. Jeremy Brady

8. Kenny Taylor

9. Mike Drake

10. Zach Pendleton

11. Rick Butler

12. Kasey Black

13. Derek Spencer

14. Jeremy Cassidy

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com