Last updated: July 24. 2013 2:35PM - 99 Views
Chris Dunham, PDT Sports Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

MSC Release

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — Six Mid-South Conference women’s basketball teams have qualified for the NAIA National Championships at the Frankfort Convention Center in Frankfort, Ky.

The MSC leads all conferences in the NAIA with the most qualifiers.

The tournament begins on Wednesday, March 13 and concludes with the national championship game on Tuesday, March 19.

Mid-South Conference regular season and tournament champion Cumberland (30-2) leads the MSC teams into the 32-team national tournament field.

Campbellsville (24-9), Cumberlands (18-12), Georgetown (22-9), Shawnee State (23-9) and St. Catharine (19-11) joins the Bulldogs in Frankfort.

As a No. 5 seed, Shawnee State will take on No. 4 Columbia out of the American Midwest Conference Wednesday at 10:15 a.m. in Frankfurt, Ky. Columbia was the AMC Tournament Champion and has a record of 27-6.

The field is comprised of 17 automatic berths, a host institution and 14 at-large selections — which were determined using the final regular-season Coaches’ Top 25 Poll released Wednesday.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com