Last updated: September 02. 2014 3:21PM - 673 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

PRP Press Release

Drivers came to Portsmouth from all over this past Saturday trying to capture the annual Pepsi 50 “River Days Rumble” but at the race’s end, it was local favorite Jackie Boggs taking the checkered flag.

He took the lead away from Scott Bloomquist on lap 43. Boggs stretched his advantage over the final seven laps to cap a stellar evening in which he set quick time and won his heat.

Saturday’s Lucas Oil sanctioned win was the third of Boggs’ career. He placed third the last time the series visited Portsmouth back on July 4th.

While the Labor Day weekend victory was big, it certainly wasn’t easy. Boggs, who had two PRP wins on the season heading into Saturday’s race, had to work hard to get to the front. After starting on the outside pole, he faded back to fourth, but steadily worked his way back to the front and eventually made the pass for the lead on the high side while working lap 43.

Early on in the race, it didn’t look as if anyone would have anything for Scott Bloomquist. He led the first 42 circuits and stretched his advantage out to a full straightaway at one point in the race. A caution with 10 laps remaining bunched the field with Bloomquist out front, Steve Francis in second, and Boggs in third.

When the green flag flew for the final restart on lap 40, it was quickly evident that Bloomquist was not as fast as he had been earlier. Reports were that he was loosing oil pressure, and as a result, the former Lucas Oil champion certainly lost speed.

Boggs went up top and went around both Francis and Bloomquist. Francis got second. Jared Landers drove up to third. Salt Eddie Carrier, Jr. placed fourth, and Bloomquist faded to fifth.

John Blankenship, Don O’Neal, Jimmy Owens, Brian Birkhofer, and Earl Pearson, Jr. rounded out the top 10.

Other than Boggs, the highest finishing local driver was Rod Conley. PRP’s defending track champion finished 12th. Other locals who made the 24-car field were Delmas Conley, R.J. Conley, and Keving Wagner; Audie Swartz; Jackson’s Jason Montgomery; Shannon Thornsberry; and Kenny Howell.

The next time the Lucas Oil Series visits Portsmouth will be for the Dirt Track World Championship paying $50,000 to win. That crown jewel of Late Model dirt racing will be October 16th, 17th, and 18th.

While the Late Models took center stage Saturday night at PRP, there was also great racing in the R.W. Rental and Supplies Modified Division as well as the M & M Inflatables Bombers.

In the Mods, Dan Ebert took the checkers. The Lake Shore, MN native led all 20 laps to capture his fourth PRP win of the season. Greggie Oliver, Tim Tribby, Brian Skaggs, and Shon Flannery made up the remainder of the top 5.

Brett Carey won the Bomber feature. It marked his first PRP win of 2014. Carey fended off Jeremie Bretz, Jason Spillman, Zach Pendleton, and Justin Jaynes to grab the victory.

PRP will be off this coming weekend but will return to action on September 13th for the annual Weaver’s Gas and Oil Bomber Shootout. Also on the card will be Giovanni’s Pizza Late Models, R.W. Rental and Supplies Modifieds, as well as O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Lates. For more details visit online at www.portsraceway.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com