Last updated: July 29. 2014 8:16PM - 559 Views

Submitted PhotoThree-wide action at Portsmouth Raceway Park.
Submitted PhotoThree-wide action at Portsmouth Raceway Park.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Sports Press Release

Portsmouth Raceway Park resumed its 2014 season on Saturday. Consequently Ben Adkins, Jackie Boggs, and Mike Meyers resumed their winning ways.

After a 22-day layoff, PRP opened its gates to feature a full card of racing with The Giovanni’s Pizza Late Models, RW Rental and Supplies Modifieds, The O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Lates, as well as Modified Lites.

Adkins entered the evening in search of his third PRP win of the season, and the current Wesbanco points leader established himself early as one of the key people to beat. Adkins recorded a time of 14.414 during qualifying — the fastest time recorded so far this season. That effort put him on the pole of the first heat where he went on to lead every lap.

Adkins also started at the point in the 25-lap Late Model A-Main, but he had to work a little harder in that one. Outside pole-sitter Shannon Thornsberry got the jump at the drop of the green and went on to lead the first eight laps.

Eventually, Adkins was able to get by. Once he found the lead, he refused to relinquish it.

Adkins held off Late Model rookie Robbie Lewis. The former Bomber and Limited Late Model PRP track champ was charging hard at the race’s end. For Lewis, Saturday night’s second-place finish marked his best-ever showing at PRP in a Late Model.

Thornsberry placed third. Lee Logan scored a fourth-place finish. Veteran Delmas Conley charged from 13th to finish fifth. Butch Dowdy, Erick Christian, Rick Christian, Jeremy Akers, and 15-year-old Avery Taylor rounded out the top 10.

Saturday’s winner of the RW Rental and Supplies Modified Feature certainly knew how to find his way to PRP’s victory lane. Jackie Boggs drove the Dave Jameson-owned Swartz Chassis to the win. Boggs, who has won many Late Model A-Mains at PRP, led every lap of the Modified show and suggested in a post-race interview that he will more than likely drive Jameson’s car at PRP next Saturday on the night of the Mod Squad Spectacular paying UMP Modifieds $3,000 to win.

Boggs fended off South Point’s Todd Robinson to take the victory. Robinson posted his sixth top 5 of the season and added to his points lead. Jeremy Hayes, Jimmy Lennex, Jr., Anthony Slusher, John Burdette, John Brady, Jr., Danny Aldridge, Brad Rickles, and teenager Colten Wright made up the rest of the top 10.

Mike Meyers again proved to be the dominant car in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Late Model division. The Fayetteville driver recorded his fifth win of the season. He led every single circuit.

Nine-time track champion John Melvin placed second but maintained his Wesbanco points lead. The veteran from Coal Grove has started every Limited Late Model A-Main this season and has finished in the top 5 in all but one event this season.

Billy Staker, Evyian Terry, Dillon Huron, Kevin Terry, Cameron Logan, Ryan Washington, Zach Smith, and Ellis Cook rounded out the top 10.

PRP’s largest car count Saturday was in the Mod Lite Division, as nearly 30 competitors rolled into town for Portsmouth Raceway Park’s annual Mod Lite event paying $1,000 to win. Mod Lite drivers were on hand from Pennsylvania, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Ohio.

Ron Parrish started on the outside of the front row and quickly found his way to the lead. Parrish held off Jeff Teeters, Tracy Fritter, Lynn Knepper, and Anthony Helms to take the win. Fifteen-year-old Tyler Frankenberry, Micah Collins, James Halfhill, Alex Pitts, and Eric Maples made up the rest of the top 10.

The motorcycle-engine powered Mod Lites put on a great show for the PRP fans. In addition to featuring three heats, a B-Main, and an A-Main stacked full of competitive racing, the division also presented one of the wildest crashes of the night. Hillsboro driver Kevin Spencer was got caught up in accident that sent him flipping wildly in turn one. He did walk away uninjured.

Portsmouth Raceway Park will return to action next Saturday featuring the Mod Squad Spectacular. Along with Modifieds paying $3,000 to win there will be Late Models, Bombers, and for the first time ever, Sport Mods. Gates will open at 4 p.m. Racing will begin at 7:30 p.m.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com