Last updated: June 23. 2014 4:42PM - 463 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Sports Release

CHILLICOTHE-For the first time in several seasons, the nationally touted All-Star Circuit of Champions will invade Atomic Speedway, Wednesday, June 25, for a special midweek show.

The event will be one of the cornerstones of the sprint speedweek tradition paying $5,000 to win for the outlaw sprints under the All-Star banner and $1,000 for the AMRA modifieds with Street Stocks and Sport Mods.

The Atomic Speedway was resurrected last summer by owner Brad McCown who is anxiously awaiting the return of the University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions.

“We have brought the All-Stars back to Atomic,” McCown said. “Not only are the All-Stars back, but this is part of the All-Ohio Outlaw Sprint Speedweek, an event Atomic traditionally has been a part of. I am excited for this big show … “

Atomic will not run its traditional Saturday night program until June 19. This week’s speedweek show is the first of three Mid-week specials. The All-Stars return Thursday, July 3 for “The Night The Stars Come Out” paying $5,000 to win in the sprints and $5,000 to win in the Late Models plus AMRA Modifieds, then comes the July 16- HELL TOUR for LATE MODELS $5,000 TO WIN, and HELL TOUR for MODIFIEDS $1,000 to win, with Street Stocks.

The 2014 season for the University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions has been unique to say the least. There have been 11 different feature winners over 12 events thus far.

All Star winners in 2014 include Dave Blaney, Kerry Madsen, Joey Saldana, Dale Blaney, Greg Hodnett, Lee Jacobs (2 wins), Jack Haudenschild, Caleb Griffith, James McFadden, Danny Holtgraver and most recently Danny Dietrich who is expected to participate in the early portion of Ohio Sprint Speedweek.

Ohio Speedweek always draws in the best talent from the Midwest, western Pennsylvania, along with the All Star regulars and usually a few surprises. In seasons past NASCAR Sprint Cup stars Tony Stewart and Kasey Kahne competed at several speedweek events. Several drivers from Australia have joined up with the All-Stars for this mid-week special.

Dale Blaney currently leads the UNOH All Star national points over Shaffer, Haudenschild, Holtgraver, four time series champion Chad Kemenah, Andrew Palker, Caleb Helms, Lee Jacobs, Dean Jacobs and Cole Duncan.

Speedweek will be part of the Ohio Region points and Blaney leads those standings over Lee Jacobs, Haudenschild, Shaffer, Holtgraver, Palker, Kemenah, Helms, Dean Jacobs and Duncan.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com