Last updated: January 28. 2014 7:30PM - 1163 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

By Cody Leist


Four Scioto County seniors as well as another from Jackson County will get one final chance to strap on their high school helmets and play in the 2014 Ohio High School Football Coaches Association North-South Game.

Wheelersburg’s Dylan Miller and Eddie Miller, Minford’s Jared McCray, Valley’s Nate Arnett and Oak Hill’s Justin Dickens were named Tuesday to the Division IV-VIII South roster for the 4:30 p.m. game that will take place April 26 at Dayton’s Welcome Stadium.

Touted as one of the longest-running high school all-star football games in the country, there will be two contests that take place that day. The first will be a 1 p.m. kickoff will place the top seniors in the state from schools that are in Divisions I-III.

The South’s small-school roster will also have a mixture of players from the region and were familiar names to some schools late in the year. Miami Trace’s Hayden Bottorff and Trimble’s Jacob Koons come from other regional schools. Newark Catholic’s Brenden Jurden, Columbus Bishop Hartley’s Kalil Morris and Alonzo Saxton as well as the pairing of Akili Taylor and Brady Taylor from Columbus Bishop Ready were a part of teams that played area schools in last fall’s postseason.

The Southeast District will have two players and a coach from the same school representing the South Roster in the big-school division as Chillicothe’s Ron Hinton will get to coach Tyler Howard and Josh Leonard one final time.

Cody Leist can be reached at 740-353-3101, ext. 294, or on Twitter @CodyLeist.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com