Last updated: January 11. 2014 9:00PM - 640 Views
By - rottney@civitasmedia.com - 740-353-3101

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Ryan Scott Ottney

PDT Staff Writer

NEW BOSTON — The New Boston Village Council convened for its first meeting of 2014 on Tuesday, beginning with an organizational meeting.

When Mayor James Warren asked council for nominations to serve as Council Pro tempore (also known as council president), Councilman Jon Mills nominated Junior Williams continue serving as Council Pro tempore, and his nomination passed unanimously. Williams was not present at the meeting.

Warren also assigned members of council to serve on committees. No changes were made to the existing committee memberships. Williams will continue to chair the Finance and Wages committee, Councilman Ralph Imes will continue to chair the Streets, Alleys and Transportation committee, Councilman Mike Payton will continue to chair the Utilities and Communications committee, Mills will continue to chair the Flood, Sewage and Service committee, Councilman Terry Salyers will continue to chair the Laws and Claims committee, and Councilman Dan Fetty will continue to chair the Lands, Buildings and Renewal committee.

Fetty also introduced a motion to continue meeting on the same schedule, and that motion was passed unanimously. The New Boston Village Council meets on the first and third Tuesday of every month, at 6:30 p.m., in the council chambers of the Vern Riffe Community Center on Rhodes Avenue in New Boston.

The next regular meeting of New Boston Village Council is Jan. 21.

Ryan Scott Ottney may be reached at 740-353-3101, ext. 287, or rottney@civitasmedia.com. For breaking news, follow Ryan on Twitter @PDTwriter.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com