Council elects mayor and vice mayor

By Frank Lewis

January 7, 2014

Frank Lewis

PDT Staff Writer

Portsmouth has a new vice mayor. After saying he believed two years was enough to serve in an administrative position on City Council, former vice president of Council, Second Ward Councilman Rich Saddler, nominated First Ward Councilman Kevin W. Johnson to be his replacement. It was the only nomination for the position, which now will be titled vice mayor under the new Council/City Manager form of government, so he was elected by consent.

Sixth Ward Councilman Steve Sturgill, the former president of Council was re-elected and now becomes mayor of the city of Portsmouth.

Council returned Diana Ratliff to the position of Clerk of the city of Portsmouth and made it official that Portsmouth’s new city manager would be Derek Allen, formerly city administrator for the city of Delta, Ohio.

Each received the oath of office from City Solicitor John Haas, as did Third Ward Councilman Kevin E. Johnson, who was elected to his first full term in November. Kevin W. Johnson also took the oath of office for another term as First Ward Councilman. Fifth Ward Councilman Gene Meadows, was absent, and will be administered the oath at the Jan. 13 meeting.

Council accepted a letter from the City Auditor regarding performance bonds and adopted the rules of City Council and again set the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 6 p.m. as the time for legislative meetings. Those meetings will now be followed by the City Manager’s Conference Agenda, which is where all legislation is introduced.

Allen said he only moved into the city over the weekend but is already looking forward to living and becoming involved in the community.

Frank Lewis may be reached at 740-353-3101, ext. 252, or at flewis@civitasmedia.com. For breaking news, follow Frank on Twitter @FrankLewisPDT.