SOC volleyball all-stars named

November 1, 2013

Cody Leist

PDT Sports Writer

Before Eastern took to the court for its Division IV Regional Semifinal with Plain City Shekinah Christian, the SOC I champion Eagles found out they had swept the top honors for the conference’s annual list.

Eastern’s Bailey Helton was named as the Player of the Year while coach Janet Day was honored as the SOC I’s top coach. Overall, the Eagles placed Carson Roney, Jenny Keppler and Madison Knipp on First Team while Casey Howard and Cassidy Roney went onto Second Team.

The remainder of the SOC I First Team went to Notre Dame’s Madi Phillips, Brooke Pierron and Emma Gohmann, Clay’s Annie Hopkins and Gabby Hickman, Western’s Erin Brewster, Symmes Valley’s Kalli Hunt, Green’s Micah Lewis, New Boston’s Kiersten McGraw and East’s Maddy Lindamood. Second Team honors went to the Titans’ Maggie Hoover and Regan Kayser, the Panthers’ Katie Redding and Lexie Gilliland, the Indians’ Abby Montgomery and Mallorie Williams, the Vikings’ Autumn Keathly, the Bobcats’ Bobbie Abblegate, the Tigers’ Kaitlyn Fannin and the Tartans’ Tamara Poore.

Although Waverly claimed the SOC II during the regular season, the Tigers split the Player and the Coach of the Year honors with South Webster. Waverly had Bri Wiget tie with the Jeeps’ Haley Potters while the Tigers’ Nancy Terry and South Webster’s Darcee Claxon were the conference’s top coaches.

Waverly also had Kayla Riffe, Hannah Martin and Ashley Burton on First Team while Kaitlynn Ross and Maddy Wiseman were Second Team selections. The Jeeps had Corey Sherman and Kacie Hall also on First Team with Brooklyn Sullivan and Marisa Sherrett were Second Teammers.

The SOC II First Team also includes Wheelersburg’s Maggie Stegman, Brooklyn Adams and Marley Hanzel, Oak Hill’s Merrill Melvin, West’s Ali Tackett, Northwest’s Haleigh Vastine, Valley’s Bethany Conley and Minford’s Jordyn Pennington. The Second Team also has the Pirates’ Hannah Duckworth and Josie Silvey, the Oaks’ Macy Melvin, the Senators’ Natalie Marasek, the Mohawks’ Ashley Riley and Brooke Miller, the Indians’ Lindsay Ward as well as the Falcons’ Kylie Berry and Logan Combs.

The SOC all-star volleyball match will be 7 p.m. Nov. 4 at Wheelersburg High School. Awards will be handed out during the evening.

Cody Leist can be reached at 353-3101, ext. 294, or cleist@civitasmedia.com. For breaking sports news, follow Cody on Twitter @CodyLeist.