Area golfers make all-district list

October 26, 2013

Cody Leist

PDT Sports Writer

A number of the area’s best golfers were honored earlier this week by the Southeast District Golf Coaches Association for their efforts during the fall.

The most number of local swingers are located in the Division II boys list. Headlining the list is Wheelersburg sophomore Mitchell McFarland as a First Team selection. Piketon’s D.J. Graham claimed Second Team honors while his teammate Casey Moore, Wheelersburg’s Austin Stevenson and Portsmouth’s Trent Rodbell were named Honorable Mention.

Joining McFarland on the First Team are Chesapeake’s Drew Oxley and Derick Lemley, Unioto’s Sam Calvin, Washington Court House’s Christian Johnson and Gallia Academy’s Dares Hamid. Oxley claimed Player of the Year honors.

In Division III, the only local golfer to be honored was Eastern’s Justin Fultz as an Honorable Mention. Coal Grove’s Brent Mason took home the Player of the Year honors.

On the girls side, Valley’s Darby High was a Division II First Team honoree. Player of the Year for the Division II girls is Chillicothe Huntington’s Shania Irvin.

Cody Leist can be reached at 353-3101, ext. 294, or cleist@civitasmedia.com. For breaking sports news, follow Cody on Twitter @CodyLeist.