SOC releases all-tennis lists

PDT Sports Report

June 11, 2013

Cody Leist

PDT Sports Writer

The Southern Ohio Conference released its list Tuesday of the conference’s top tennis performers for this spring.

The Players of the Year in Divisions I and II were awarded to Notre Dame’s Luiz Benitez and Valley’s Nick Johnson respectively. The Titans claimed the SOC I title while the Indians shared the SOC II crown with the Waverly Tigers.

The Coaches of the Year for each division went to those who led all three schools to divisional crowns. Notre Dame’s Krista Gohmann claimed the SOC I trophy while Valley’s Jill Davis and Waverly’s Matt Morrison shared the same honor in Division II.

Benitez was joined on the All-Division I list with teammate Emma Gohmann. The list also includes the New Boston duo of Emily Waugh and James Mohr while Clay lands four members — Mark Shaffer, Marta Tomasi, Michael Schmidt and Eldin Sarajlic.

Johnson was the lone representative for the Indians while the Tigers featured Philip Hart, Carter Good and Nathan Wilburn. The list is rounded out with Minford’s Josh Parsons and Kylar Smith along with Wheelersburg’s Walker Roe and Zack Johnson.

Cody Leist can be reached at 353-3101, ext. 294, or cleist@civitasmedia.com. For breaking sports news, follow Cody on Twitter @CodyLeist.