All-SOC girls hoops list features best of the area

March 14, 2013

PDT Sports Report

The All-SOC girls basketball list was released earlier this week and Notre Dame swept the awards in Division I while Wheelersburg and West split the awards in Division II.

Notre Dame’s Jen Arnzen won Player of the Year for the SOC I league champion Lady Titans. Notre Dame coach J.D. McKenzie was awarded the Coach of the Year hardware in the SOC I. The Lady Titans finished a perfect 14-0 in the SOC I and lost to South Webster 52-35 in a Division IV District Semifinal Feb. 23.

SOC II Player of the Year honors went to West’s Tori Leader who helped the Lady Senators to an 8-6 record in conference in 2013. West fell to Oak Hill 71-61 in a Division III District Semifinal Feb. 23.

SOC II Coach of the Year went to Wheelersburg’s Dusty Spradlin, who lead the Lady Pirates to a conference championship and a record of 13-1 in the SOC II. Wheelersburg fell to West 52-48 in a Division III District Quarterfinal Feb. 16.

2012-2013 Girls All SOC Basketball

Division I

First Team: Jen Arnzen (Notre Dame), Raigan Sammons (Notre Dame), Libby Welsh (Notre Dame), Chandler Brown (Eastern), Carson Roney (Eastern), Emily Widdowson (Clay), Katie Redding (Clay), Kalli Hunt (Symmes Valley), Brittany Reader (Western), Jessie Monroe (East), Kiersten McGraw (Glenwood), Giulia Eli (Green).

Second Team: Sammie Marting (Notre Dame), Stacie Ramey (Notre Dame), Brittany Mounts (Eastern), Rhyanna Day (Eastern), Lexi Gilliland (Clay), Gracie Waddell (Symes Valley), Erin Brewster (Western), Tiffany Craft (East), Emily Waugh (Glenwood), Madison Applegate (Green).

Player of the Year: Jen Arnzen (Notre Dame)

Coach of the Year: J.D. McKenzie (Notre Dame)

League Champions: Notre Dame

League Records: Notre Dame (14-0), Eastern (11-3), Clay (10-4), Symmes Valley (7-7), Western (7-7), East (5-9), Glenwood (1-13), Green (1-13).

Division II

First Team: Fay Proehl (Wheelersburg), Sydney Holden (Wheelersburg), Brooklyn Adams (Wheelersburg), Leanna Adkins (Oak Hill), Paige Roseberry (Oak Hill), Kylie Berry (Minford), Carrie Wynn (Minford), Tori Leader (West), McKenzie Coriell (Valley), Kaci Messer (South Webster), Darbie Jenkins (Northwest), Bri Wiget (Waverly).

Second Team: Maggie Stegman (Wheelersburg), Brooke Smith (Wheelersburg), Alex Kuhn (Oak Hill), Abby Haislop (Oak Hill), Brooklyn Yeley (Minford), Taylor Conley (West), Bethany Conley (Valley), Kacie Hall (South Webster), K’Lee McClurg (Northwest), Hannah Martin (Waverly).

Player of the Year: Tori Leader (West)

Coach of the Year: Dusty Spradlin (Wheelersburg)

League Champions: Wheelersburg

League Records: Wheelersburg (13-1), Oak Hill (10-4), Minford (9-5), West (8-6), Valley (8-6), South Webster (5-9), Northwest (3-11), Waverly (0-14).