Area golfers earn district honors

Chris Dunham, PDT Sports Writer

October 25, 2012

Bob Strickley

PDT Sports Editor

Many area golfers chipped their way into 2012 district honors after a season of pars, eagles and bogeys.

In Division II, Darby High of Valley was a First Team selection out of the Southeast District on the girls side while Mitchell McFarland of Wheelersburg earned First Team boys honors in the Southeast District of Division III.

Zach Johnson of Clay was a Second Team selection in Division III as was Ben Arnold of Wheelersburg, Taylor Swayne of Clay and Chad Lands of Beaver Eastern.

District Coach of the Year went to Wheelersburg’s Jarod Shaw, who guided his team to the Division III District Tournament at Cumberland Trails Golf Course in Pataskala. The Pirates finished ninth out of the dozen that participated.

Wheelersburg finished second at the Sectional Tournament held Sept. 22 at Shawnee.

Additionally, out of the 16 regular season matches, invitationals and SOC Previews, Wheelersburg finished lower than first only one time.

All-District Golf Teams 2012-2013

Editor’s Note: Division I excluded for relevance and space.

Division II - Boys

First Team

Nick Duffield - Chesapeake - Co-Player of the Year

Rob Canady - Gallia Academy - Co-Player of the Year

Colton Forcum - Unioto

Austin Bagshaw - Hillsboro

Drew Oxley - Chesapeake

Adam Sharp - McClain

Second Team

Dares Hamid - Gallia

Andrew Harley - New Lexington

Sam Calvin - Unioto

Shane Stevens - Chesapeake

Lane Bunnell - Wellston

Seth Waggoner - Chesapeake

Honorable Mention

Seth Williams - McClain

Alex VanZant - Hillsboro

Hunter Riepenhoff - Wellston

Trey McKinney - Meigs

Eric Sias - Chesapeake

Brady Curry - Gallia Academy

Dustin Mullins - Alexander

Nate Newman - Zane Trace

Drew Laferty - Vinton County

Tyler Reeser - Logan Elm

Coach of the Year - Terry Kimball - Chesapeake

Division II - Girls

First Team

Breanna Post - Westfall - Player of the Year

Taylor Saxton - Logan Elm

Shania Irvin - Chillicothe Huntington

Sany Stewart - Westfall

Darby High - Valley

Marci Schneider - West Union

Second Team

Kayla Fox - Logan Elm

Jackie Cunningham - Belpre

Randee Seevers - Waterford

Tiffanie Harmon - Logan Elm

Haylee Wehring - Hillsboro

Natalie Cooper - Adena

Morgan Detwiller - McClain

Honorable Mentions

Kylee Applegate - North Adams

Bethany Sweeney - Manchester

Emily McCarty - West Union

Kirsten Kane - Zane Trace

Alex Hudson - Circleville

Kirsten McDonald - Chillicothe Huntington

Alyssa Cremeans - Meigs

Danielle Adelsberger - Alexander

Michelle Ackley - Adena

Grace Edwards - Sardinia Eastern

Abby Scott - Wellston

Alana Dehaney - Belpre

Coach of the Year - John Butts

Division III - Boys

First Team

Brandyn Offenberger - Waterford - Player of the Year

Brent Morgan - Coal Grove

Mitchell McFarland - Wheelersburg

Bobby Welch - West Union

Sam Petty - Belpre

Gus Sloan - South Gallia

Second Team

Zach Johnson - Clay

Brennen Ferell - Belpre

Seth Sparks - North Adams

Peyton Cooper - Adena

Adam Pape - Southern

Alex Perry - Belpre

Honorable Mention

Marshall Spencer - Manchester

Brandon Flores - Nelsonville-York

Devin Gardner - North Adams

Kade Miller - West Union

Cole Graham - Southern

David Warner - Reedsville Eastern

Linus Stoltz - Lynchburg-Clay

Ben Arnold - Wheelersburg

Shaun Hayes - Miller

Logan Carroll - Chillicothe Huntington

Taylor Swayne - Clay

Hunter Miller - Adena

Luke Taggert - Whiteoak

Chad Lands - Beaver Eastern

Seth Jarrell - South Gallia

Cameron Bosner - Waterford

Hayden Plummer - Belpre

Coach of the Year - Jarod Shaw

Bob Strickley can be reached at 353-3101, ext. 203, or bstrickley@heartlandpublications.com.